Graduate Program Directory

Department/Contacts Phone EMAIL Address
BIOENGINEERING
Program Director: Aaron Batista, PhD  
Coordinator: Nick Mance

412-383-5394 
412-624-6445 

apb10@pitt.edu
ngm8@pitt.edu

4074 BST3
306 Center for Bioengineering
BIOLOGICAL SCIENCES (CMU)
Program Director: Manojkumar Puthenveedu, PhD    
Coordinator: Ena Miceli
412-268-8236
412-268-3012 
map3@andrew.cmu.edu
emiceli@andrew.cmu.edu
202 Mellon Institute 
415 Mellon Institute
BIOMEDICAL ENGINEERING (CMU)
Program Director: Keith Cook, PhD  
Coordinator: Maryia Rakach   

 

412-268-7383 
412-268-4707
keicook@andrew.cmu.edu
mrakach@cmu.edu
4N207 Scott Hall  
4N201A Scott Hall
BIOMEDICAL INFORMATICS
Program Director: Harry Hochheiser, PhD 
Coordinator: Toni Porterfield 

 

412-648-7119 
412-648-9203
harryh@pitt.edu
tls18@pitt.edu
500 BAUM 
M183 Parkvale Building
CHEMISTRY
Program Director: Paul Floreancig, PhD 
Coordinator: Christie Hay 

 

412-624-8727
412-624-8501
 
florean@pitt.edu
gradadm@pitt.edu
1403 Chevron Science Ctr  
234 Chevron Science Ctr
CLINICAL AND TRANSLATIONAL SCIENCE
Program Director: Galen Switzer, PhD  
Coordinator: Juliana Tambellini  

 

412-586-9632
412-586-9632 
switzerge@upmc.edu
jtambellini@pitt.edu
200 Meyran Ave, Suite 300
200 Meyran Ave, Suite 300
COMPUTATIONAL BIOLOGY
SOM Program Director: James Faeder, PhD     
Associate Director: Nathan Clark, PhD   
Coordinator: Kelly Gentille 
CMU Program Director: Ziv Bar-Joseph, PhD 
Coordinator: Nicole Stenger 

 

412-648-8171
412-648-7785
412-648-8107
412-268-8595 
412-268-3779
faeder@pitt.edu
nclark@pitt.edu
kmg120@pitt.edu
zivbj@cs.cmu.edu
nstenger@cs.cmu.edu
3082 BST3
3501 BST3
3052 BST3
8006 Gates & Hillman Ctr
7414 Gates & Hillman Ctr
EPIDEMIOLOGY
Program Director: Iva Miljkovic, MD, PhD, FAHA  
Coordinator: Linda Deluco   

 

412-624-7325
412-624-3733
ivm1@pitt.edu
deluco@edc.pitt.edu
130 DeSoto Street
A516 Public Health
HUMAN GENETICS
Program Director: Zsolt Urban, PhD 
Associate Director: Beth Roman, PhD    
Coordinator: Jennifer Palaski 

 

412-648-8269 
412-624-7006
412-624-1560     
urbanz@pitt.edu
romanb@pitt.edu
jdh150@pitt.edu 
A308 Crabtree Hall
A309 Crabtree Hall 
A332 Crabtree Hall 
INTEGRATIVE SYSTEMS BIOLOGY
Program Director: Neil Hukriede, PhD    
Associate Director: Takis Benos, PhD
Coordinator: Shari Murphy

 

412-648-9918
412-648-3315
412-383-4318
hukriede@pitt.edu
benos@pitt.edu
sas101@pitt.edu
5061 BST3 
3064 BST3 
5054C BST3 
MICROBIOLOGY AND IMMUNOLOGY
SOM Program Director: Robert J. Binder, PhD 
SOM Associate Director: Jennifer Bomberger   
Coordinator: Jesse Rosenthal   

 

412-383-7722 
412-624-1963
412-648-7050
rjb42@pitt.edu 
jbomb@pitt.edu
jrosenthal@pitt.edu
BSTWR E1053
416 BRDG2
E1051 BST
MOLECULAR BIOPHYSICS AND STRUCTURAL BIOLOGY (MBSB)
SOM Program Director: Andrew Hinck, PhD   
Coordinator: Lauren Zielinski   
CMU Program Director: Maria Kurnikova, PhD   
Coordinator: Ena Miceli   

 

412-648-8533
412-383-7866
412-268-9772
412-268-3012
ahinck@pitt.edu
lez26@pitt.edu
kurnikova@cmu.edu
emiceli@andrew.cmu.edu
1035 BST3  
M240 Scaife
503 Mellon Institute
415 Mellon Institute
NEURAL COMPUTATION
CMU Program Director: Rob Kass, PhD   
Pitt Program Director: Brent Doiron, PhD    
Coordinator: Melissa Stupka   

 

412-268-8723
412-624-1759
412-268-8362
kass@andrew.cmu.edu
bdoiron@pitt.edu
mstupka@cnbc.cmu.edu
229H Baker Hall  
505 Thackeray Hall 
116C Mellon Institute
NEUROSCIENCE
SOM Program Director: Brian Davis, PhD      
Coordinator: Patti Argenzio      
SAS Program Director: Stephen Meriney, PhD   
Coordinator: Natalee Bright  

 

412-648-9745
412-648-9537
412-624-8283
412-383-7582
bmd1@pitt.edu
argenzio@pitt.edu 
meriney@pitt.edu
nrf26@pitt.edu 
E1457 BST
E1448 BST
461 Crawford Hall
A206 Langley Hall
OFFICE OF GRADUATE STUDIES
Associate Dean: John Horn, PhD
Director: Joyce D'Antonio, PhD

 

412-648-8957
412-648-8957
jph@pitt.edu
jad155@pitt.edu
524 Scaife Hall  
527 Scaife Hall  
PSYCHOLOGY (CMU)
Program Director: Marlene Behrmann, PhD     
Coordinator: Erin Donahoe 

 

412-268-2790
412-268-6026
behrmann@cmu.edu
Donahoe@andrew.cmu.edu
331 Baker Hall
332D Baker Hall

Interdisciplinary Biomedical Graduate Program

Department/Contacts Phone EMAIL Address
INTERDISCIPLINARY BIOMEDICAL GRADUATE PROGRAM
Program Director: John P. Horn, PhD  
Coordinator:

 

412-648-9429  jph@pitt.edu M240C Scaife Hall
CELL BIOLOGY AND MOLECULAR PHYSIOLOGY
Program Director: Michael Butterworth, PhD   
Associate Director: Donna Stolz, PhD   S221 BST      
Coordinator: Sarah Biancardi   S362 BST

 

412-383-8591
412-383-7283
412-383-3177
michael7@pitt.edu
dstolz@pitt.edu
sab181@pitt.edu
S221 BST  
S221 BST  
S362 BST  
CELLULAR AND MOLECULAR PATHOLOGY
Program Director: Wendy Mars, PhD   
Associate Director: Alex Soto-Gutierrez, MD, PhD     
Coordinator: Amanda Bytzura   S417 BST

 

412-648-9690
412-648-0064
412-648-8842
wmars@pitt.edu
sotogutierreza@upmc.edu
amb430@pitt.edu
S407 BST  
3511 Rangos Research Ctr  
S417 BST  
IMMUNOLOGY
Program Director: Robert Binder, PhD     
Associate Director: Binfeng Lu, PhD    
Coordinator: Ryan Moeslein   

 

412-383-7722
412-648-9339
412-648-7050
rjb42@pitt.edu
binfeng@pitt.edu
moeslein@pitt.edu
E1051 BST
E1047 BST
E1051 BST
MOLECULAR GENETICS AND DEVELOPMENTAL BIOLOGY
Program Director: Michael Tsang, PhD      
Associate Director: Kara Bernstein, PhD      
Coordinator: Kristin DiGiacomo   

 

412-648-3248
412-864-7742
412-624-5981
tsang@pitt.edu
karab@pitt.edu
kmd78@pitt.edu
5062 BST3 
2.42e Hillman Cancer Ctr 
523 Bridgeside Point II
MOLECULAR PHARMACOLOGY
Program Director: Patrick Pagano, PhD   
Associate Director: Guillermo Romero, PhD       
Coordinator: Shannon Granahan   

 

412-383-6505
412-648-9408
412-648-9321
pagano@pitt.edu
ggr@pitt.edu
granahan@pitt.edu
E1247 BST
W1355 BST
W1340 BST
MOLECULAR VIROLOGY AND MICROBIOLOGY
Program Director: Fred Homa, PhD     
Coordinator: Kristin DiGiacomo  

 

412-648-8788
412-624-5981
flhoma@pitt.edu
kmd78@pitt.edu
515 Bridgeside Point II
523 Bridgeside Point II